The hope of heaven

Posted: January 10, 2013 by doulos tou Theou in Christianity, Discipleship, Uncategorized

“It has pleased our Father to open his counsel and to let us know the very intent of his heart and to acquaint us with the eternal extent of his love; and all this, that our joy may be full and we might live as the heirs of such a kingdom [of heaven].  And shall we now overlook all this, as if he had revealed no such matter?  Shall we live in earthly cares and sorrows, as if we knew of no such thing?  And rejoice no more in these discoveries than if the Lord had never written it?  If your prince had promised you some lordship, how often would you be casting your eye upon it and making your daily delight to study it, until you come to possess that dignity itself.  And has God promised you heaven, and do you let it lie there, as if you had forgotten it?  Oh, that our hearts were as high as our hopes, and our hopes as high as these infallible promises!”

Richard Baxter, Practical Works (London, 1838), III:276.  Style updated.

HT:RayOrtlund

Comments
  1. Hi there exceptional blog! Does running a blog such as this require a lot of work?

    I have no expertise in coding but I had been hoping to start my own blog in the near future.
    Anyhow, if you have any recommendations or tips for new blog owners
    please share. I understand this is off subject however I simply needed to ask.
    Thanks a lot!

  2. Spot on with this write-up, I honestly believe that
    this site needs much more attention. I’ll probably be returning to read more, thanks for the advice!

  3. Hi there! Would you mind if I share your blog with my twitter group?
    There’s a lot of people that I think would really enjoy your content. Please let me know. Thanks

  4. hello!,I really like your writing very a lot! proportion we keep up
    a correspondence extra about your post on AOL? I require
    an expert in this area to unravel my problem.
    Maybe that is you! Looking ahead to see you.

  5. Heya i am for the first time here. I found this board and I to find
    It really helpful & it helped me out a lot. I’m hoping to provide one thing back and help others like you helped me.

  6. Heya i am for the first time here. I came across this board and I find It really useful & it helped
    me out a lot. I hope to give something back and help others like you helped me.

Leave a Reply

