‘he that glories, must glory only in the Lord.’

Posted: December 6, 2012 by doulos tou Theou in Christianity, Discipleship, Puritan Faith, Reformed Theology, The Christian Life

“We should not have so much disputing against the doctrine of election, or hear it condemned (even by good men) as a doctrine of devils. For my own part, I cannot see how true humbleness of mind can be attained without a knowledge of it. And though I will not say, that everyone who denies election is a bad man, yet I will say . . . it is a very bad sign. Such a one, whoever he be, I think cannot truly know himself. For if we deny election we must, partly at least, glory in ourselves. But our redemption is so ordered that no flesh should glory in the Divine presence. And hence it is, that the pride of man opposes this doctrine because according to this doctrine and no other, ‘he that glories, must glory only in the Lord.’ But what shall I say? Election is a mystery that shines with such resplendent brightness that, to make use of the words of one who has drunk deeply of his electing love, it dazzles the weak eyes even of some of God’s dear children.”

– George Whitefield, ‘Christ the Believer’s Wisdom, Righteousness, Sanctification, and Redemption,’ in The Sermons of George Whitefield (Crossway, 2012), 2:214-25

Comments
  1. CFB says:

    I wonder what he would say about those who have never even heard of the doctrine of election or never even discussed it. I think of the three churches that had the greatest impact in my life before age 25 and all their sermons, and I just can’t remember any mention of election, despite the constant use of the Bible and the constant singing to Jesus and the constant praying for the Holy Spirit’s guidance. This must be “a very, VERY bad sign.” It really takes the wind out of my sails to think that all the effort spent on reading the Bible and praying never brought us to knowledge of, and agreement with, the doctrine of election. Perhaps we were all just not elect. Or, maybe all these independent Southern churches are just full of stupid people. Maybe you have to be smart enough to grasp the doctrine of election to know that you’re elect. I sure can’t sort it out.

  2. CFB says:

    I wonder what Whitefield would say to Christians who have never even heard of the doctrine of election. I think of the three churches I went to through age 25. The pastors never mentioned the doctrine of election in sermons, and I never heard it in household/small group discussions. The pastors and most congregants read the Bible daily, they sang praise songs to Jesus, and they sought the Holy Spirit’s guidance. I guess that’s “a very, VERY bad sign.” What happens to those who don’t even know about the doctrine of election? All those churches, all those Christians. I don’t think it’s because they wanted to glory in themselves. Somehow, they just didn’t get the doctrine of election from their prayer, worship, and Bible study.

  3. usama al-taher says:

    I m not seeing what your seeing in the text.

    “We should not have so much disputing against the doctrine of election, or hear it condemned , ‘he that glories, must glory only in the Lord.’ even by good men) as a doctrine of devils.”

    He then talks about the “humbleness of the mind” is gained through the doctrine. He never talks about those who don’t know it as less than he. He is talking about the joy of it i.e.

    “he that glories, must glory in the Lord”

    & he ends with a statement I thought you could appreciate.

    “But what shall I say? Election is a mystery that shines with such resplendent brightness that, to make use of the words of one who has drunk deeply of his electing love, it dazzles the weak eyes even of some of God’s dear children.”

    And if you are truly wondering what he would say to those who have never heard of the doctrine of election read some of his sermons.

    Here’s the link to this one the quote is from & its all about Jesus.

    http://www.ccel.org/ccel/whitefield/sermons.xlvi.html

    And if it doesn’t interest you don’t worry about it. Believing it or not believing doesn’t determine if you are regenerate or not, there s no doctrinal exam to enter heaven. If there were there would be no need for the cross.

  4. CFB says:

    I am simply trying to sort out the experiences of the 38 years since I became born-again and to do the sorting in light of my Reformed church community, but I realize now this sorting task is my own, and if shared, it is best shared with those who have been born-again longer than I have been.

  5. doulos tou Theou says:

    I understand & will pray for you on your journey

Leave a Reply

