Change the message change the mood

Posted: September 13, 2012 by doulos tou Theou in Christianity, Discipleship

“Jesus was not revolutionary because he said we should love God and each other. Moses said that first. So did Buddha, Confucius, and countless other religious leaders we’ve never heard of. Madonna, Oprah, Dr. Phil, the Dali Lama, and probably a lot of Christian leaders will tell us that the point of religion is to get us to love each other. “God loves you” doesn’t stir the world’s opposition. However, start talking about God’s absolute authority, holiness, Christ’s substitutionary atonement, justification by faith apart from works, the necessity of new birth, repentance, baptism, Communion, and the future judgment, and the mood in the room changes considerably.”

~Michael Horton

Comments
  1. kim/nannykim says:

    Wait a minute–the difference between all those other religions and Jesus being revolutionary also entails the love He is talking about because He tells us in John : 34 A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another: just as I have loved you, you also are to love one another. 35 By this all people will know that you are my disciples, if you have love for one another.” None of these other religions or leaders of the religions showed us this love that Jesus did. This love incorporates the things Horton lists—but I think, (I truly do!) that if we loved as He has told us to then we would be revolutionary. Chan’s book , Crazy Love–speaks to this. REALLY!!

    Ps. I normally only comment if I don’t quite agree, so I hope I am not coming across as negative. How come there are no discussions on this blog? perhaps I had better look on your sidebar to see the purpose. Sorry , if I shouldn’t be commenting!

  2. doulos tou Theou says:

    Nannykim

    Thanks for commenting, your always welcome to comment. Sometimes I might or might not respond a lot has to do with my schedule. I usually put up quotes or thoughts that are influencing me some are recent some older. All are meant to stir us to think more about the Gospel, more about Jesus.

    Also, since they are more quotes and not my own thoughts I think some people are less likely to engage in conversation. When there are questions I try to engage, but when there are statements depending on what they are I leave it to others to discuss.

    Thanks again for your time reading and your time in leaving comments.

  3. boydmonster says:

    Kim, I think I agree with you. The difference between Jesus and Oprah isn’t only that they both say “Love”, but Jesus’ love is so much more radical and authentic and powerful than anyone else’s. Oprah tends to boil love down to an absence of condemnation where other world leaders boil love down to the call to repentance. Only Jesus says “Neither do I condemn you, go and sin no more.”
    That being said, I think that Horton’s point is to say that Jesus’ love is significant because He is the sovereign lord and ruler of all.

  4. kim/nannykim says:

    Yes, I enjoy your posts –quotes because they make me think–I like that! I think when Horton said, “Jesus was not revolutionary because he said we should love God and each other” , he should have THEN said—He was revolutionary because He was love, He lived out this love and demonstrated in a way no other religion has. Yes, I agree with the comment by boydmonster.

Leave a Reply

