Wretched: Matt Chandler

Posted: May 22, 2012 by doulos tou Theou in Christianity
Comments
  1. kim/nannykim says:

    I agree with this in so far as it goes.

    I know this is only a little bite of what he is teaching. However, I think some Christians don’t understand fully what it means to remain in Christ, to live in Christ and this has to be true of us to be saved from the wrath. Romans 5:9 “How much more then, since we are now justified by his blood, will we be saved THROUGH him from the wrath.” It is through him we are saved. Jesus teaches in John 15:9 “As the Father loves me, so I also love you. Remain in my love. 10 IF you keep my commandments, you will remain in my love, just as I have kept my Father’s commandments and remain in his love…..12 This is my commandment: love one another as I love you. 13 No one has greater love than this, to lay down one’s life for one’s friends. 14 You are my friends IF you do what I command you.” Romans 8:13 For if you live according to the flesh, you will die, but if BY THE SPIRIT you put to death the deeds of the body, you will live. 14 For those who are LED by the Spirit of God ARE children of God…..17 and if children, then heirs, heirs of God and joint heirs with Christ, IF only we suffer with him so that we may also be glorified with Him.”

    Sometimes I think statements like Matt makes can be wrenched out and I do not believe they can stand ALONE. Christ , Paul, John, James etc make it clear that we receive justification and have to continue living by the Spirit, putting to death the deeds of the flesh by the Spirit, walking in the Spirit, abiding in Christ etc. Jesus says in Jn 17:3 Now this is eternal life, that they should know you, the only true God, and the one whom you sent, Jesus Christ.” So who knows Jesus? John states in I John 2:4 Whoever says, I know him, but does not keep his commandments is a liar , and the truth is not in him. 5 But whoever keeps his word, the love of God is truly perfected in him. This is the way we may know that we are in union with him: 6 whoever claims to abide in him ought to live as he lived.”

    Paul, himself, emphasizes the need to live by the Spirit in Gal 5. He follows this up and states in verse 19 Now the works of the flesh are obvious: immorality, impurity, licentiousness, 20 idolatry, sorcery, hatreds, rivalry, jealousy, outbursts of fury, acts of selfishness, dissensions, factions,21 occasions of envy, drinking bouts, orgies, and the like. I warn you, as I warned you before that those who do such things will not inherit the kingdom of God”

    So there has to be a living out of the faith by grace , by the power of the Spirit. We have to remain , abide IN HIM—I don’t think this whole aspect is often made clear. Justification is only by Christ by Grace and this has to remain true in our lives—we have to abide IN HIM, LIVE IN HIM, etc and it includes keeping commandments as John, Jesus, Paul, James, Hebrews etc states. NO, we are not saved BY our works—it is the grace that enables the works. But neither can we be saved apart from living by the Spirit and putting to death the deeds of the flesh.

    So I hope Matt and others preachers would be a bit more balanced in their presentation and preach the WHOLE gospel. As Jesus told his disciples (and thus preachers are to do this) in Matt 28: 19 Go, therefore, and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the holy spirit, 20 TEACHING THEM TO OBSERVE ALL THAT I HAVE COMMANDED YOU.” Many times preachers stress things in such a way that it almost goes against the clear teach of Scripture. One sometimes gets that I can make a profession and then live like the devil. Paul warns against this and I suppose therefore even he could be misunderstood. The preaching of the gospel has to include that if we are IN Christ we do have to keep HIS commandments.

Leave a Reply

