“I’ve been to the mountaintop”

Posted: March 1, 2012 by boydmonster in Uncategorized

This morning in our men’s bible study, we started studying Deuteronomy.  As such, our discussion strayed towards Moses’ not only not making it into the promised land, but having to see the land he would never enter.  This is most often read as a torturous punishment, that God shows Moses the Promised Land to exacerbate his sorrow.  Nothing has convinced me that this reading is faulty more than Martin Luther King’s last speech.  Here King reflects on his joy of knowing that his people will enjoy what he will not see.  He says at the end of that speech:

Like anybody, I would like to live a long life. Longevity has its place. But I’m not concerned about that now. I just want to do God’s will. And He’s allowed me to go up to the mountain. And I’ve looked over. And I’ve seen the Promised Land. I may not get there with you. But I want you to know tonight, that we, as a people, will get to the promised land!

And so I’m happy, tonight.

I’m not worried about anything.

I’m not fearing any man!

Mine eyes have seen the glory of the coming of the Lord!!

I think that, like King, Moses rejoiced when he saw the promised land because w

Leave a Reply

