An Invitation from Vision Night

Posted: February 28, 2012 by boydmonster in Uncategorized

If you came out for Vision Night last night, thank you. I get excited just thinking about the grace of God operating in our midst and how Trinity could contribute to the transformation of Myrtle Beach. However, there was one crucial element that I forgot to talk about last night. Proverbs chapter 16 states that “The plans of the heart belong to man, but the answer of the tongue is from the LORD… Commit your work to the LORD, and your plans will be established.(Proverbs 16:1-3 ESV)” I really think we have a great plan for growing Trinity, and I think we might actually accomplish it. However, unless God is at work, the most crucial aspect, that of changing hearts for eternity, will never happen. Every revival in the history of the church has happened when Christians, recognizing that they could not do what only God can do, got down on their knees to pray (check this out for an example). Prayer is the humble confession that we believe in God, not ourselves. Unfortunately, prayer for the church has been lacking since I’ve been here at Trinity, and I must accept part of the blame for not prioritizing prayer over struggling in my own efforts. To that end, I would like to invite as many of you as are in Myrtle Beach to join me at Trinity on Thursday at noon for six weeks to kneel before the Lord and seek His grace. This meeting will be solely devoted to praying for the church. It will not be a liturgical service. It is not a “healing service” strictly speaking (although I expect that as we take prayer seriously we will see people healed). We will simply be meeting together to pray for the mission of the Church. Please join me and I look forward to seeing God do amazing things in our midst as we rely not on our efforts but His strength.

Comments
  1. susanshanks says:

    I was never so proud to be a member of Trinity, as I was on Monday evening!
    I am not free at noon on any day, but I can assure you that Don and I will pray
    for Trinity’s Godly witness to the city of Myrtle Beach continuously! You are
    greatly loved!

Leave a Reply

