We will be surprised

Posted: February 25, 2012 by doulos tou Theou in Christianity, Discipleship

I do not know when Christ will come again. I would think it most presumptuous if I said that I did. I am no prophet, though I love the subject of prophecy. I dislike all fixing of dates, and naming of years, and I believe it has done great harm. I only assert positively, that Christ will come again one day to set up His kingdom on earth, and that whether the day be near, or whether it be far off — it will take the Church and the world exceedingly by surprise!

~ J.C. Ryle

Tract: Coming Events and Present Duties

Comments
  1. susanshanks says:

    My favorite subject too, J.C.
    It always amazes me that so many people don’t like prophecy because it’s “hard to understand”!
    Why would God have something written in His Book if He didn’t want us to read it? We don’t have to understand everything we read – we just have to believe it! Don’t you just love our God?!!!

Leave a Reply

