You must come to Christ first

Posted: February 21, 2012 by doulos tou Theou in Christianity, Discipleship

I pity those who try to be holy without Christ! Your labor is all in vain. You are putting money in a bag with holes. You are pouring water into a sieve. You are rolling a huge round stone uphill. You are building up a wall with untempered mortar. Believe me, you are beginning at the wrong end. You must come to Christ first, and He shall give you His sanctifying Spirit. You must learn to say with Paul, “I can do all things through Christ which strengthens me.” (Phil. 4:13)

~ J.C. Ryle

Tract: Christ is All

Comments
  1. nannykim says:

    Hmmm, I am wondering why any one would want to be holy if they didn’t know Christ.

  2. susanshanks says:

    Nannykim
    I always like your posts! Here’s my answer to this one. Years ago, I always tried to please God (read – my parents); and try as I might, it never worked; but during that phase of my life I always kept on trying. (Read “duh!”)
    The Good News is – I was introduced to the Gospel and was taught about a personal relationship with Christ. I am so thankful that “God’s word never returns unto Him void!” That was 38 years ago!
    Now, the presence of God amazes me every day, and gives me the impetus to share what I learned those many years ago! God’s grace is soooooooooooooo good!
    In Jesus’ Love,
    Susan

Leave a Reply

