“But why do I have these desires?”

Posted: July 6, 2012 by doulos tou Theou in Christianity, Current Issues, The Christian Life

from a good short blog post by Stephen Altrogge, shoot over and read the whole thing. Here’s a snippet.

“But why do I have these desires?” she might ask.

“Well sweetie,” I’d say. “Sin has distorted every person’s sexuality. Every time I’m tempted to lust after a woman, that’s a distortion of my sexuality. Every time you’re tempted to lust after a person of the same sex, that’s also distortion. See, you and I are the same. It just works itself out a little bit differently. We both desperately need Jesus. But the wonderful thing is, Jesus is in the process of repairing the distortions. He gives me power to not give in to lust, even though it feels really strong at times. He can give you that same power. And someday, when he comes back, everything sad and broken will finally be undone.”

read the whole piece here

Leave a Reply

