John 6:39,40,44,54

Posted: April 7, 2010 by doulos tou Theou in Christianity, Contemporary Theology, Discipleship

39  And this is the will of him who sent me, that I should lose nothing of all that he has given me, but raise it up on the last day.
40  For this is the will of my Father, that everyone who looks on the Son and believes in him should have eternal life, and I will raise him up on the last day.”

44  No one can come to me unless the Father who sent me draws him. And I will raise him up on the last day.

54  Whoever feeds on my flesh and drinks my blood has eternal life, and I will raise him up on the last day.

I’ve underlined this phrase in 39 to show who will be raised on the last day according to Lord Jesus. In blue we are seeing the power of the resurrection and a promise made by Lord Jesus. In bold will be the main focus; “It” in 39 here is translated from the Greek word “αυτο“, the “him” in the following verses from the Greek word  “αυτον“.  I read this section in a book by DA Carson that led me here.

In verse 39  what Jesus will raise on the last day  is the  auto(it)–i.e. all (whom) the Father has given him; but in verse 40,44,54, the object of Jesus’ resurrection power is auton, the individual believer.

This thought of Jesus not laying down His life for a corporate saving of people, but an individual saving of people is overwhelming for me. It may sound like splitting hairs. But I think there is a big divide here.

Here is a picture I used to describe it to my family. ‘ It’s thunder storming out and you have no cover and no protection from the elements. You see a man in the distance with a big umbrella waiving you over letting you know you will be safe there, if you get there. ( that would be the corporate saving in that if you get “there” you will be raised up).

That man is Jesus and He not only let’s us know He is the only shelter from the storm, but He comes to you and puts the umbrella over you. So in doing that it ‘s personnel. He came and saved you, So that you could say this with Paul:

“I have been crucified with Christ. It is no longer I who live, but Christ who lives in me. And the life I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.

God’s glory in the wrath bearing sin offering of His Son is awesome in it self. That  He accomplishes salvation was and is for “you” makes it unbelievably magnificent beyond compare.

Praise God

Leave a Reply

